All of us hit a block.  A few rolls of film with nothing.  A thousand or so digital files of nothing.  Here’s a quick solution.  Buy a cheap crappy good camera.  My Ricoh rz770 was my girlfriend’s and has an overwhelmingly high buy it now price on ebay of $3.79.  It sports a 35-70 zoom lens, a terribly weak flash that I always seem to forget to turn off, and… well that’s about it.  But on the plus side;  I’m not carrying a big camera, or multiple lenses, or a lightmeter or even a bag.  Just the camera in my pocket and a few rolls of film and off I go.  The real beauty is that you never know what you’re going to get,  where it’s going to focus, how it’s going to expose etc…  so all you can think about is your subject.   Ahhhhhh  ZEN.  So, if you’re stuck or bored or not happy with what you’re getting, give it a try.  You can usually buy one of these little gems for under 10 bucks at your local pawn shop. (less than the roll of film that’s in it!)  It’s a lot of fun.

Ricoh rz770

Ricoh RZ and Tri-x at Central Station Sydney

